Moving Forward Together
JFS-David Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship

Established by Dr. Robert Rubenstein, in memory of his son David, The JFS-David Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship provides grants to students from San Diego’s Jewish Community who plan to attend college or vocational school. The program awards scholarships of up to $5,000, based on financial need, academic performance, and community involvement.

The JFS-David Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship seeks to encourage young people to treasure their Jewish heritage, reflect on their Jewish values, and better understand their connection to the community.

“This scholarship plays an important role in allowing me to pursue higher education, with less time and effort spent worrying about finances.”

Eligibility, Selection Criteria, & Disbursement

  • Be a Jewish high school, college, or graduate student planning to attend school full-time at an accredited public or private college, university, or vocational school in the U.S.
  • Be a legal and permanent resident of San Diego County for at least two years by the start of the upcoming academic year.
  • Be a U.S. citizen or documented legal permanent U.S. resident (green card).
  • Plan to contribute toward their own education through part-time work before or during the academic year (unpaid internships or volunteer work are also acceptable).
  • Be in current good academic standing with a minimum overall 3.0 GPA.
  • Demonstrate a meaningful connection and/or contribution to the Jewish Community.
  • Demonstrate financial need, as verified by FAFSA (Student Aid Report) and tax return.

JFS-David Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship recipients are carefully chosen based on a variety of criteria determined by the Scholarship Committee.

All applicants will be notified in writing of the JFS-David Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship Committee’s decision. Jewish Family Service reserves the right to publicize the names of the Scholarship recipients through our website, print publications, and local media.

Students are eligible to receive up to a total of four (4) years of JFS-David Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship funding, and the funding years do not have to be consecutive. Scholarships are made on a year-to-year basis and are NOT automatically renewed. Scholarship recipients must submit a new application and the required documentation in compliance with the application deadlines, stated herein, for each year that they seek funding.

Scholarship funds will be sent directly to the academic institution the student is attending solely for use toward qualifying academic expenses, including tuition, room and board, books, school fees, or required academic supplies/equipment. Should the recipient not matriculate college by the date listed in the award, he or she agrees to forfeit the scholarship award.

Take the Next Step

Applications for the 2022-2023 academic year are now closed.

Questions? Email [email protected].

Hear from one of our past recipients about how the scholarship positively impacted her academic experience.
David Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship Brunch

Recipients of the 2019/2020 Scholarship celebrated with Marie G. Raftery, Dr. Robert Rubenstein, and Selection Committee members.

Schools Attended by JFS-David Rubenstein Memorial Scholarship Recipients

American Jewish University • Azusa Pacific • Berklee College of Music • Carnegie Mellon University • Chapman University • Claremont McKenna College • Golden State University Law School • Hebrew University College • National University • Pace University • Palomar City College • Paul Mitchell • Portland State University • San Diego City College • San Diego Flight Training International • San Diego State University • Santa Barbara City College • Stern Yeshiva University • Tuffs University • Tulane University • University of Arizona • University of California Berkley • University of California Davis • University of California Irvine • University of California San Diego • University of California Santa Barbara • University of California Santa Cruz • University of California, Los Angeles • University of Oregon • University of Redlands • University of San Diego • University of Southern California • University of Washington