Moving Forward Together

Heart & Soul Gala

JFS’s annual Heart & Soul Gala

April 30, 2022

What a joy it was so see so many smiling faces again! Our hearts and souls are full of gratitude for the overwhelming support we received from our community in honor of the 2022 Heart & Soul Gala. Together, we raised $1.4 million to sustain the life-changing work of Jewish Family Service of San Diego while honoring community leaders, Marcia Hazan and Danielle and Brian Miller/Geppetto’s. We are so appreciative of this outpouring of generosity which will empower and uplift thousands of children, families, and older adults across our community.

Our heartfelt thanks to Evelyn and Ernest Rady for their generous matching gift, and to our Gala and auction committees, guests, underwriters, auction donors, and volunteers whose exceptional effort and support made this event possible. Together, we are creating a stronger and healthier community where everyone can thrive.

Moving Forward Together,

Signatures of Marie Raftery, Dr. Bob Rubenstein, and Scott Schindler

Marie Raftery, Dr. Bob Rubenstein, and Scott Schindler


Marcia Hazan

Danielle & Brian Miller

Gala Chairs

Marie Raftery & Dr. Bob Rubenstein  |  Scott Schindler

Honorary Chairs

Evelyn and Ernest Rady

Evelyn & Ernest Rady

Gala Committee

Loretta Adams
Jamie Carr
Ronnie Diamond
Kira Finkenberg
Dana Levin
Erin Combs Pearl
Jeremy Ross
Karin Toranto

Auction Committee

Jeremy Ross, Chair
Kira Finkenberg
Dana Levin



CARS (Charitable Adult Rides & Services)
Lisa Foster & Alan Bersin
Marcia Foster Hazan & Mark Cammell
Marie Raftery & Dr. Bob Rubenstein



Lee & Frank Goldberg
Lois J. Richmond & Family



Marjorie & Sheldon Derezin
Kathleen & Mark Jones
Sean Joseph & Mahau Ma
Arlene & Louis Navias
Karen & Jeffrey Silberman



Jamie, Bryce & Tyler Carr
Cohn Restaurant Group
Susanna & Michael Flaster
Emily & Chris Jennewein | Times of San Diego
LEGO + Geppetto’s
Sylvia Liwerant
Meiselman Family
Danielle & Brian Miller | Geppetto’s
Safdie Rabines Architects
UC San Diego
Sharon & David Wax
Bebe & Marvin Zigman



Deborah Bucksbaum
Capital Auto Auction
City National Bank
Liz Nederlander Coden & Daniel Coden, M.D.
Del Mar Highlands Town Center
Theresa Dupuis & Gary Kornfeld
Alberta Feurzeig
Mardi & Ben Loeterman, Julie & Howard Haimsohn, & Shirley Haimsohn
Alan Haubenstock, Brian Haubenstock & Lori Shearer
Insurance Auto Auctions
Jewish Community Foundation of San Diego
Susan & David Kabakoff
Nadja Kauder
Lisa & Gary Levine
Jennifer & Jay Levitt
Sandy Levinson
LightBridge Hospice and Palliative Care and the LightBridge Hospice Community Foundation
LourdMurray Delphi
Congresswoman Lynn Schenk
Schindler Family
Schylling Inc.
Rachel & Adam Welland
Joellyn & Ron Zollman
Emma & Leo Zuckerman



Honorable Jan Adler & Karen Hartz
Sarah Bakhiet
Judy & Larry Belinsky
Marsha Berkson
Edgar & Julie Berner
Barbara Bry & Neil Senturia
Comfort Keepers
Congregation Beth Israel
CounterTEN NFT Platform
Linda Fredin & Gary Frost
Abe Gleiberman
Jeanne Gold & Rabbi Aaron Gold z”l
Shana Hazan & Marc Schaefer
Michael Hopkins & Supreeth Manjunatha
Rachelle & Charles Jagolinzer | Laurie & Mark Spiegler
Ed & Linda Janon
Marge Katleman
Larry Katz
Karen & Warren Kessler
Jennifer & Mathew Kostrinsky
Rabbi Marty & Anita Lawson
Jessica & Mike Lees
Mathew z”l & Barbara Loonin
Leslye & Scott Lyons
Marcia Malkus
Dr. Howard & Barbara Milstein
Amy & Edward Nefouse
Beth Newton
Planned Parenthood of the Pacific Southwest
Rightnow Registration/Ridenow Transport | Antonio Orozco & Iliana Z. Reyes
Arlene Rosen
Jeremy Ross
Jessica & Scott Schindler
Seacrest Village & Seacrest Foundation
Jill & Mark Spitzer
Rabbi Jonathan & Susan Stein
Jill Stone
Karin & Tony Toranto
Helene & Allan Ziman


Logo for CARS


Logo for Geppetto's - a child's fantasy
Logo for Cohn Restaurant Group
Logo for Gallagher: Insurance, Risk Management, Consulting
Logo for Safdie Rabines Architects
Logo for Times of San Diego
Logo for UC San Diego


Logo for Capital Auto Auction - The Auction
Logo for City National Bank
Logo for Del Mar Highlands Town Center
Logo for Insurance Auto Auctions
Logo for Jewish Community Foundation San Diego
Logo for KPBS
Logo for Light Bridge Hospice & Palliative Care
Logo for Light Bridge Hospice Community Foundation
Logo for Liz Nederlander Coden, Realtor; Pacific Sotheby's International Realty; Daniel J. Coden, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Logo for Lourd Murray Delphi
Logo for Schylling


Logo for Comfort Keepers
Logo for Beth Israel
Logo for Counter Ten
Logo for Manheim
Logo for Planned Parenthood
Logo for Right Now Registration Services
Logo for Ride Now Transport
Logo for Seacrest Village Retirement Communities
Logo for Seacrest Foundation

List as of 4/13/22


AEG Live
Alvarado Institute of Skincare
Athenaeum Music & Arts Library
Batch & Box
Bay Club Fairbanks Ranch Country Club
Belly Up Tavern
Bombay Coast Indian Cuisine
Breakers Coffee & Wine
Liz & Seth Brown
Camp Mountain Chai
Capital Genealogy
Liz Nederlander Coden & Daniel Coden, M.D.,
David & Lesley Cohn
Cohn Restaurant Group
Coronado Playhouse
Cygnet Theatre
Del Mar Thoroughbred Club
Donna Jean Restaurant
Caroline Farwell/Elegant Dragonfly
Fitness Quest 10
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Franklin’s Popcorn
Gelb Productions
Giving Back Magazine
Goldstein Golf
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
Jerri-Ann & Gary Jacobs
Karen Raphael Studio
Mervyn Kodesh
Krav Maga San Diego
La Jolla Music Society
La Jolla Playhouse
Lamb’s Players Theatre
LEGO + Geppetto’s
Mainly Mozart
Lee Maio & Deborah Bucksbaum
Masterpiece Limousine
Danielle & Brian Miller/Geppetto’s
Mingei International Museum
Orfila Vineyards & Winery
Pacific Coast Grill
Pala Casino Spa Resort
Ernest Rady
Rancho La Puerta Wellness Resort & Spa
Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Jeremy Ross
Sheryl & Bill Rowling
Sammy’s Food & Wine
San Diego Repertory Theatre
San Diego Center for Jewish Culture at the Lawrence Family JCC
San Diego Gulls
San Diego Padres
San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance
San Pasqual Winery
Amy Schindler
Schylling, Inc.
Lori Shearer & Brian Haubenstock
Elizabeth & Mitch Siegler
Skincare by Dela/Dela Aghdaie
Snakebite Coffee Company
Daniel Soto-Kobernick
Sprouts Farmers Market
Stanley Steemer San Diego
Sweet Pea
Sycuan Casino + Resort
The Broken Yolk
The Fish Market
The Fleet Science Center
The French Gourmet
The Grand Del Mar
The Huntington Library, Art Museum & Botanical Gardens/Dan Lewis
The New Children’s Museum
The Old Globe
The Westgate Hotel
The Zemer Family/ALOR
USS Midway Museum
Viewline Resort Snowmass
Wayfarer Bready & Pastry